Starting The New Year With Black and White and Stripes


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have decided this will be my first quilted item for 2012. Something old combined with something new. The strips were sewn around June last year. My plan was to make pillow covers. But couldn’t decide on two large, four small or one large/two small.

So, rather than cut into it until I made up my mind, I just enjoyed folding it different ways and taking photos.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So now it has been rescued from the Round-To-It Pile. And guess what? It won’t be pillow covers after all!! It is going to be a quilt. I “think” I want to make Half Square Triangles. Half stripes. Half black and white. And since I have been accumulating black and white fabric for a year, I should have more than enough to get started.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I think I will work in the new color for 2012. Tangerine. (Read all about it below.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… that’s what I am working on. What are you working on? Have you made your first 2012 crafty item yet?


2012 Color of the Year

http://www.burdastyle.com/blog/new-year-new-color-pantones-2012-pick-tangerine-tango

http://www.pantone.com/pages/fcr.aspx?pg=20910&ca=4

4 comments on “Starting The New Year With Black and White and Stripes

  1. Wow, you sure have a nice selection of black and white fabric. Doesn’t that orange make it pop!

  2. Jude says:

    While you are quilting, this quilter is knitting. Making scarves for the church fair in March. :)

  3. Tanya says:

    I LOVE the black and white scissors material ,and also the purple with the tiny dots in it. ( I forget the name of it).
    You have a good eye for mixing and matching different materials in intricate designs. I think the experience you have gained through this past year really refines your craft. I could have never guessed that you have quilted so many quilts last year. I am also saddened that I missed your giveaways! … Maybe next time!
    I LOVE the star trivet you made. It is really beautiful! I look forward to seeing your beautiful handiwork this new year. ‘Love ya!

  4. Lillian Dummer says:

    I am going to make one more tie blanket a Green bay Packer Than I am going to make a Lap Size Quilt called Moderne Lap size Quilt. and if all goes well a pillow to match. Web Bonus at

    McCallsQuilting.com. you can download it .

Leave a Reply

