A Perfect 11″ Gift Box Block


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Third time is a charm. Keep trying. Never give up.

All of the above. I knew I could do it. These are all a perfect 11″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I only made four since that was all the fabric I had. It was about 16″ by 44″. In the eBay scraps. I didn’t realize how many pieces were Christmas until I sorted them out. Quite a few to keep me Christmas sewing for about a week. :D

Anyhoo….. I sent these “perfect” ones off as my entry to the Block Lotto in my Quilt Group. My four will get me four chances to win the block pot. That would be cool to win them all. And then I can make a little Gift Box Quilt.

I finished up the red and green one I showed you two days ago. Made four.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Again, that’s all the fabric I had. Too bad. I like them. Maybe I will make Santa Mug Rugs. Or a long table runner.

The first two gift box blocks I made but weren’t quite up to snuff, I turned into these. I am thinking doll quilts. Or table toppers.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

They are quilted and ready for binding. I am leaning toward rounded corners. But that means a bias binding. We shall see.

Here’s a Sneak Peek at something I am working on in between all my other projects. I am trying something new with more of my scrap blocks. A block I haven’t tried before.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I haven’t shown you any Idea Sandwiches in a good while. Here’s one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like this arrangement but think the green fabric could be more interesting. I have to go to JoAnn’s today for thread so I’ll check to see what they have that will make the other fabrics “pop”.

Stay tuned. Keep that dial here. More to follow…

7 comments on “A Perfect 11″ Gift Box Block

  1. Lennette says:

    I love your quilt blocks for your quilt group exchange!!! I also love the blocks that you made with red and green fabric! The angel fabric that you are “auditioning” fabrics for is so pretty!!!

  2. Gaby says:

    Christmas Already????!!!! OMG!!!! :D
    Beautiful job!!

  3. don_mae says:

    Hi Lennette… Hi Gaby…. Thank you both.

    Can’t wait to show you. I finished sewing on the binding for the two Gift Box blocks. They turned out really cute. For the last couple of hours I have been debated what in my stash I can use to go with the Christmas fabrics I have. Hard work!! :D

    Lennette, I found a green that should go well with that angel fabric today at JoAnn’s. At least I hope it works out.

  4. Mary Keating says:

    Have found your website truly inspirational. I originally went into it for the macrame instructions and was delighted to see full instructions on how to make a purse. Many people are loathe to give their patterns. I have never done macrame before and when the chance arises I want to make the purse. Here in UK macrame cord – especially the colour you want – is not available and shops don’t sell it anymore. Have made a Link in my Macrame Folder! “Home made” just isn’t cool over here. Again, congratulations on a lovely website.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Mary, so glad you found my site and do hope to see you commenting regularly. I would love to see your macrame purse when you make it. Thanks much.

  5. Lillian Dummer says:

    I love you . You are doing so good, what an Artist you are turning out to be.

Leave a Reply

