Scrappy Week – Day 7: Making The Cut


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finally found a combination of purple fabrics that I like. Didn’t like so much the blocks I made yesterday so tried a different arrangement.

These I like. The difference? The cut.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I can arrange in lots of ways.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Mix them with the other purple ones I made Sunday and I can do this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here is a photo of all of the purple ones. 16 new ones for a total of 48 purple.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Felt really good to see the purple scrap pile get smaller and smaller. This is what I have left.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This week will be Scrappy Week 2. There just wasn’t any way possible to make it through all of my scraps in one week. I still have blue, green, brown, beige, orange and whatever other colors I missed. I will post an update a few times, maybe three, unless what I have to show you just can’t wait. :D I also will start on a couple of projects using these scrap blocks. Thanks for rooting for me!!


Color Wheel for Week 1.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Total scrap blocks made: 158

  • wine/burgundy 30
  • gold 20
  • yellow 8
  • red 26
  • black/wine 10
  • black 4
  • black/white 4
  • red/black/white 8
  • purple 22
  • purple/turquoise 10
  • purple (Sunday) 16
6 comments on “Scrappy Week – Day 7: Making The Cut

  1. Lennette says:

    I love your purple scrap blocks Donna and I absolutely LOVE the diagonal strips with the half square triangle!!!! I can’t wait to see how you start putting the blocks together!!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Oh my gosh!! Why didn’t I think of doing that side as a half square triangle!! You don’t even want to know how I did it. LOL!! I have a bit of that lavender left. I will now do them the RIGHT way. Thanks!! :D

  2. Carol says:

    Oh Donna. these are the best yet. those are PMP…perfect match purples…a difficult task. I would want an entire quilt of these blocks!
    xx, Carol

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Carol. That is what I am thinking too. Those fabrics look great together. I am just about out of purple. Made a few more blocks today. Yay!! Yippee!!

  3. Deb says:

    Wow you’ve been busy this week! I get your updates via email but hadn’t stopped in for a while. I’m thinking I’m going to add a few more scraps to the bag, throw them thru the wash (we have dog hair on everything in this house whether we like it or not) and put them in a box to you. Of course you’ll probably have used up all your existing scraps already by then the way you are going! Seriously though- the plan is by sometime next week to get these in the mail to you. Lots of colors, some old fabric, some newish, some I’m not even sure where it came from.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, yes I have been busy.

      My purple scraps wore me out!! But I am happy to say I am down to the itty bitty pieces. I got tired of sewing just strips and strings, so I cut what I could into 1 1/2″ squares. So now I am sewing them together. Going to start on a different color today.

      Can’t wait to get your scraps. Will be fun mixing them with mine. Thanks!! (Congrats on the weight loss. I saw it on your blog.)

Leave a Reply

