Boxed Mug Rug Gift Set


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The idea for this fabric box came from this site.

http://www.sewmamasew.com/blog2/december2010/SMSHappyHostessBox3.pdf

Of course, I changed it up a bit. Made it larger and rectangular instead of square. Also loaded up on Pellon to make it sturdier. I ironed on interfacing on top and bottom and also sewed in a piece of really heavy Pellon on the bottom.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And added a removable carrying handle. I LOVE the SnapSetter. So easy to use. A few pounds with the hammer and the snaps attach quickly and smoothly. It is one of my favorite gadgets.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The mug rugs, four of them, fit inside the box.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made them with 2″ squares. Quilting was simple diagonal lines.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am just about finished with a second set. Just need to tack the sides down to the fabric box and add the handle.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

They were easy to make. Just time consuming. A lot of pressing. And my ironing board is in another room. Lots of walking.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am going to make several more sets. Getting things together for my Christmas craft shows. Will make perfect gifts.

6 comments on “Boxed Mug Rug Gift Set

  1. Michelle says:

    Oh this is adorable!! I could totally see this being a great Christmas present.

    • don_mae says:

      Thank you, Michelle!!

      I am working on a set using the colors in a coffee mug as my inspiration. Once I have the right shade of blue, I’ll get started.

  2. Tanya says:

    I love the warm fall colors and the basket idea for this project. It will make a nice gift for someone!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Tanya!! I am putting the finish touches on the 2nd set today. I have been sorting through my scraps. Think I will use up some of them for my next project.

      Hope you are well and macraming!!

  3. Pearlie says:

    This is very beautiful! :) Especially love the little white patches in the middle..

Leave a Reply

