How I Made My Quilted Oven Mitts


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There are a lot of helpful tutorials and tips out there on the net to make Oven Mitts. I did my research, read probably about 30 “how to’s” and cherry-picked from those I liked.

When gathering up your fabric choices make sure you select 100% cotton for fire safety precautions. You will need a top fabric and a lining fabric plus batting and insulated lining.

MAKING OVEN MITT TEMPLATE

First I traced around an old oven mitt I bought years ago at the Dollar Store. Make it slightly larger than the actual mitt. Plain and simple shape. Nothing fancy. I bet you have something similar laying around your house.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Use hard stock paper for tracing if you have any. You can cut out several templates to make cutting go faster.

CUTTING OVEN MITT PIECES

Cut two (2) mitts from the top fabric. Thumb facing left. One facing right.
Cut two (2) mitts from the lining fabric. Ditto above for left and right.
Cut two (2) mitts from the insulated lining (see bottom of post for what I used). Shiny side up. One thumb facing left. One right.
Cut two (2) mitts from your ALL COTTON batting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

QUILTING

Pin in this order.

One top fabric and one Insul-Bright. Shiny side facing the WRONG side of top fabric.
One lining fabric and one batting. Batting facing the WRONG side of lining fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilt the above “sandwiches” in two steps. Just as you have them pinned. Top fabric and Insul-Bright. Then lining and batting.

For the top fabric, sew simple, slightly curved lines from top to bottom. And one arched line from inside of thumb “V” down along the thumb’s outside curve.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You only need to match up one seam, if you wish. For the side thumb seam. Mark this spot so front and back seams will line up when sewn together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The rest of the quilting lines can be random. But if you make three lines on the front, as I have. Make the same on the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilting on the lining/batting should also be simple, though I did add a few more vertical lines. To keep the inside from bunching when washed, I added two horizontal lines.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Eyeball it and sew one about 3 inches down from the top and one about 3 inches from bottom of the mitt. Not too many since you don’t want the fabric to shrink from a lot of quilting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Repeat for the second set.

SEWING QUILT SANDWICHES TOGETHER

Sewing top and bottom sets together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Use your Walking Foot, if you have one, and set it to the default zig zag stitch. I didn’t adjust the stitch. Start anywhere along the edge. Go all around. Repeat for the second set.

Top fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Lining fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

MAKING HANGING TAB

Cut a strip of matching or coordinating fabric 1 1/2″ by 5″. Fold in half along the longer side. Now fold the halves up toward center fold. Iron or finger press. Sew down the middle of strip. Set aside for later.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

SEWING TOP TO THE BOTTOM

Pin zig zagged sections together with lining fabric on outside, front and back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Insert hanging tab (folded) about 2″ up from the bottom on one side. I put mine on the straight side, not the thumb side.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Begin sewing. Again using your Walking Foot and the zig zag stitch. Yes, you will be zig zagging on top of the zig zagging. Start on the bottom end of the mitt on one side. Go around and stop at the bottom end of the mitt on the other side. Do Not Sew The Bottom Opening. Leave it open.

TURN OVEN MITT INSIDE OUT (Main fabric will be on the outside)

Look over your mitt. Make sure you are happy with how you sewed the top to the bottom. If bunched in the thumb area, go back inside and clip in the “V” area, careful not to cut the stitches. If you are satisfied, turn mitt back to lining on outside. Now do the final sewing. Go back along the zig zag path with STRAIGHT STITCHES. Just to reinforce. Now, turn inside out. Main fabric will be on the outside. Use something stiff (not pointed) to push out the curves along the sewn edges of the mitt. Just using your fingers doesn’t push the fabric out. (This photo is showing two mitts.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

FINISHING OFF BOTTOM OPENING

Binding, bias binding, cuff. Your choice.

I decided on a mock cuff. Cut a strip of 2 1/2″ by 12″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Pin cuff strip to the inside of the bottom opening. Right sides together. Stitch along the zig zag path, above it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I removed my tools case (I guess that is what it is called) from my sewing machine so I could fit the cuff onto the arm.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Stop sewing before you get to the side seam of the mitt. Make a side seam in the cuff strip. Make sure it fits perfectly along the rim. Trim excess from seam. Finger press open. Continue sewing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Turn cuff fabric up. Turn edges down. Top stitch all around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And done!! Enjoy!!

These instructions will make one oven mitt. Repeat for a second one, if desired.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This is the insulated lining I used. Insul-Bright. I got it on-line at Fabric.com. It comes with great tips on how to use it. Also has an oven mitt template on the packaging label which I plan to print out to use in the future.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


5 comments on “How I Made My Quilted Oven Mitts

  1. Lennette says:

    Fantastic tutorial Donna!!! Thank you so much for sharing it with all of us!!! I can’t wait to try it!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey thanks!!

      I am having fun. Supposed to be touching and feeling all over my Halloween fabrics. But instead, I made a mitt to go with the cranberry and orange place mats. I have enough of that cranberry and cream yellow fabric you sent me to make about two more.

      Come join me. We will sew all day and night. :D

  2. Tanya says:

    This step by step tutorial is very nice. It also looks pretty easy.
    I haven’t gotten the urge to sew just yet. I might when the weather gets cold and nasty, which isn’t too far off.
    I went to the thrift store last week and bought a real nice oven mitt. I hadn’t planned on it but it was priced cheap so I bought it. I am currently crocheting dog sweaters and a pillow cover.
    Oh! Have you ever thought about having a blog entry for dog sweater patterns? Do you think there would be enough interest? I have a twelve pound Miniature Schnauzer that I LOVE making sweaters for. Each year, I scour the ‘net for new patterns but there aren’t many new or interesting ones to choose from. I would love it if some of the readers would share their ideas on patterns. Thanks, in advance!

  3. don_mae says:

    Thanks, Tanya. It really is easy.

    Cold here. Perfect macrame (inside) weather. I get to sweating from all that arm movement. LOL!!

    I haven’t thought of asking my readers to share their ideas on patterns. Let me think on how I would do it. Interesting. Maybe you could e-mail me with more details.

  4. Carol says:

    Very good tutorial. Thanks for giving us all your good info, including the link for Insul-Bright.

Leave a Reply

