Not Finished But Just Have To Show You!!


Ta-dah…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, at least, half of a Ta-Dah.

This came out GREAT!! I carefully zig-zagged the quilt “sandwich” for side A and also for side B. Then ditto for combining the two sides together. I even remembered to stick in the hanging tab on the side before sewing the seam.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The floral fabric is the inside lining.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I have to decide if I want a cuff (as pictured in the 1st photo) or if I want just a bias binding.

It came out better than I thought it would. I held my breath the whole time I was sewing. I used my walking foot to zig zag. Never tried it before. But it has a wide mouth so I figured it should work. And it did. Yippee!!

I’ll go into more details when I show you the completed mitt.

My first oven mitt. How about that!!


12 comments on “Not Finished But Just Have To Show You!!

  1. Wanda says:

    thats very nice, I’ve recently started back trying to sew some small projects after a long time of not sewing. It was making me hurt so bad but I’ve missed it.

  2. Lennette says:

    Awesome oven mits Donna!!!!

  3. Carol Keene says:

    You asked an important question, “cuff or binding?” Either, just so it’s stitched down. Anything like a gap on the cuff that can catch is a hazard with an oven mitt or hot pad. I like the wider “look” of the cuff, as long as it’s anchored. Love the mitts. You can make them out of a gazillion different fabrics. I used to have lots of them, but have scorched the beauty out of most. Make lots of them! Pretty, useful and fun to make with leftover pieces. So cool!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Carol. Good to know. And to think I originally did think of a cuff. A real one. But I am going to sew it to “look” like one. Thanks for the tip.

  4. digipicsphotography says:

    That looks really good. I need to make a few. I guess next month and November will be finding me making last minute Christmas gifts.

  5. Crystal says:

    It looks great, Donna!
    Next, you’ll be making some with pieced fabric. (I know how you love to match/coordinate prints and solids, and you’re so good at it. :-)

    P.S. Love the Halloween fabric as well!

    • don_mae says:

      Yep, I have some already pieced that I have been eyeballing. Just might trace around a mitt and get to cutting. :D

      Thanks!!

  6. Debra says:

    Looking good Donna! Did you make the pattern or find it somewhere?

Leave a Reply

