Cranberry Candy Corn Placemats


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Fall is definitely on the way. At least in my parts of the country. Windows are closed. My winter housecoat now warms my arms and shoulders. The bed has its winter layer on. When it gets cooler, I add a 3rd comforter to snuggle under at lights out. Even the lawn has a sprinkling of golden leaves. Yes, it is headed here and fast.

Usually fall means brown to me. As you know I LOVE BROWN. But for this project, I decided to give brown a rest. Change up. It was so easy to make my selection now that my fabric stash is organized by color. I kind of had an idea on what I wanted to make.

Place mats or a table runner.

Here are the fabrics I rounded up. Some I have had a long time. The 2nd piece from the top, I think I got it at JoAnn’s about 5 years ago. It has so many colors going on. I kept returning it to my stash. A couple of these, the cranberry with the black leaves and the light orange print, came in the scraps I bought on Ebay. The 4th piece was in the Lennette stash. It really goes well with the other fabrics.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I wanted to get out of my comfort zone a bit, so I dusted off my Fons and Porter 60 degree pyramid ruler. Was still in the plastic shrink wrap. It was about time I unwrapped it. No sense buying rulers and templates if I am not going to use them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The pie pieces look like candy corn, don’t they?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

When I sewed the first block, it was kind of wonky in the center. Looking at it, I realized what I had done wrong. I had sewed the pie pieces in a circle, one right after the other. For the second block, I sewed three wedges together. Then three more. And sewed the two sections together along the long edge. That produced a better center. Not perfect. But better. (These next photos are of the 2nd block I made.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished these yesterday but needed to make a candy corn run to the drugstore. (You know they have Halloween stuff out already!!)

Here I have three table mats lined up together to form a table runner.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… what do you think?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Oops… I forgot to show you the back. I used the fabric I had the most of.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Placemats measure 14 1/4″ by 12 1/2″.


17 comments on “Cranberry Candy Corn Placemats

  1. Debra says:

    Donna, I think I am in love! These are gorgeous!

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    Really pretty!

  3. It is awesome. Thanks for tutorial. I added it to my todo list.

  4. don_mae says:

    You are welcome. I cut the strips all different widths. Thanks much!!

  5. abbie2001 says:

    These are beautiful and the colors would be perfect in my dining room!

  6. Lennette says:

    Oh my gosh Donna…I absolutely love it!!! I’ve been quilting for about 11 years, and my color sense has no equal to yours!!! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…you are a natural born quilter!!! You try patterns and color combinations that I am too timid to try, and they look perfect EVERY TIME!!!! I wish I had your talent!!! You just jump in, without fear, and do the most amazing things!!! I know I’ve told you before, but I’ll tell you again…watching your “no fear” attitude and your wonderful talent has inspired me to challenge myself to do things I never thought I could do, and guess what? I can actually do them!! It’s all because I have watched you grow SO much in your quilting that YOU inspire me to be fearless, because YOU are fearless. Thank you my dear friend, for encouraging me through your talent!!! You are absolutely amazing!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks so much, Lennette.

      But I will tell you. The fabric you sent me excited me plus gave me pause. At first I added it to the mix, pulled it out, added it, pulled it out. I was torn on the design clashing too much. I think this is where my “no fear” took over. I convinced myself the colors would work and got to cutting.

      I am REALLY pleased with the outcome. Too bad I don’t have more of the cranberry with tiny black leaves. Or I would be on the 4th, 5th, 6th………. :D

      • Betty (Nana) says:

        Donna, you have done a fabulous job! I love the pattern you chose as well as your color choices. You are so bold putting them together and they are stunning! Really, really nice work!

  7. Crystal says:

    Oh Donna!
    They’re so very pretty as placemats . . . but as a runner????
    Oh la la!!!! :-)
    xo

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks so much, Crystal!!

      I plotted out my next series of fabric to make more. I am so excited I can hardly sit still but we are packed and ready to head out. Will have to wait until I get back.

  8. Debra says:

    Donna, stumbled across another project that made me think of you- If more people I knew were having babies I’d be tempted to try this one myself! Its absolutely gorgeous though very time consuming. http://www.aestheticnest.com/2010/08/sewing-heirloom-cut-chenille-baby.html

    • don_mae says:

      I love, love, love that technique!! I already searched and found the best deal I could on the net. The cutter and 2 replacement blades in one eBay listing. They should be here in a few days. Thanks so much for sending me the link. I had never heard of it before.

  9. don_mae says:

    Thank you, Nana.

    I just wish I had more of all of those fabrics. So.. I selected a different set of fabrics and am making more. Brown, rust, beige. May make a quilt. I think I have enough.

    Miss ya.

Leave a Reply

