Back-To-School Quilt Is Finished

This is where we left off. I was showing you the completed quilt top.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It still needed to be quilted.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And bound.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ok, let’s go. Lots to tell you. Show you.


I love it when I try something new (to me) or different and it works out ok. There are a couple of “firsts” in this quilt.

No 1: First time quilting with other than a neutral color thread. Tried black. I held my breath each time I arrived at a red section. And wouldn’t you know it, my hands got all wobbly and I messed up a few times. Intimidated by red!! But I left it as is, didn’t stop, rip and start over. I am learning that perfection is overrated.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No 2: First time sewing the binding by machine. I sewed very slowly and stopped about every four inches to flip up the bottom to make sure I was sewing inside the binding area and not over the edge. I like the result and will likely do it again. For quilts this size or smaller.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had just enough of the alphabet fabric to make Dresden Plate wedges for a pillow. Had to piece two of them. So except for a few small scraps, that fabric is used up. Yay!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The pillow is different from any others I have made. I added a pocket. A secret hidden pocket. It is deep and the width of the pillow. I bet a child will be delighted to discover it. The intrigue of it all. It is deep enough to completely hide this notepad I covered with the ABC123 fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This set is perfect for day care. Use it at home or take it to Grandma’s. Nap time and playing school. A playmat. Quilt measures 42″ by 52″ and pillow is 12″ by 16″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am finding I like black, red and white together. It is fast becoming one of my favorite color combinations.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What are your favorite fabric color combinations? Do tell.


6 comments on “Back-To-School Quilt Is Finished

  1. Lennette says:

    You did it again Donna! Another awesome creation!!! You’re right…perfection is overrated!!!

  2. Lillian Dummer says:

    Just look at you, what a Quilter you turned out to be. Excellent work.

  3. KipperCat says:

    Hi Donna, I’ve always loved black, white & red. With your design and the accent colors in your fabrics, you’ve really “kicked it up a notch”. Great work!

  4. Crystal says:

    Another fabulous gift, Donna! :-)

    As for my favorite color combination, I love black and red – actually ANY of the jewel tones with black.

    And you know me . . . I also love PURPLE… purple with pink, purple with fuchsia, purple with turquoise, purple with red, purple and green . . .

    Why am I sounding like a Forrest Gump movie, all of a sudden? ;-)

  5. I don’t really have a favorite color combo, though I used black, red, and beige for the bf’s footstool I made him, and black, red, and white for the pillow covers I made two of for the couch. Out of all the purses I have made, my favorite one is the hot pink and grey one followed by the chartreuse and black one I did last night. I guess I just like black… lol.

  6. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. What fun!!

    Last night I went through that latest book I bought. The one that I had to buy the special ruler for. Think the next thing I make will come from it.

    Thanks much!!

Leave a Reply

