The Doll Days of August

Making quilts for dolls is a lot of fun. I get to experiment with colors and also use up some of those “cut but didn’t work” pieces from other projects.

These were made from the pink/purple scrap bin. Even used some of my Dresden Plate leftovers. Toss in some lace and you get what I am calling the Ball and Chain Series.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The Pillow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So far I have five finished. Here are front and back photos. Twice the fun.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And now some close-up’s.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You are probably wondering why I named them Ball and Chain. This little ball and chain keeps the pillow matched up with the quilt.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I moved on to Zebras. Zebra fabric. I really love this fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I added the lace and different color fabric trim. Matching pillow, of course.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used the black and white zebra fabric for the back. Cuteness overload.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Then I made this quilt I call the Red Flower quilt. I fussy cut the flower for the center.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Used Michael Miller Clown Stripes as my starting Log Cabin border.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not only did I fussy cut the red flower but I also “fussy sewed” to line up the stripes.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then added my favorite polka dots.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilting was done with a fast simple meandering stipple design.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I knew I wanted to add lace and ribbon. Selected this double sided lace from my lace stash. Been there for YEARS. Happy to use some of it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Binding was done with the red and black floral fabric. I had hoped to fussy cut more of the red but this was the best I could get.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This photo shows the fabric I used for the back. Didn’t want to go all wild with a lot of different fabrics. The front is busy enough. :D

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Red Flower quilt measures 24″ by 24″. Perfect for 18″ dolls and could also be used for a new baby.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hope you have enjoyed my Doll Days of August.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


My Back-To-School quilt is finished. Working on the pillow. Photos soon, maybe tomorrow.


9 comments on “The Doll Days of August

  1. abbie2001 says:

    Your Doll Days of August are fantastic and as usual you show us your great artistic side. I only wish I could do half as good as you do.

  2. LOVE the zebra fabric! Not the stripes, the actual funny zebras. Where’d you get it? I would love to make a me-sized blanky out of that!

  3. digipicsphotography says:

    That zebra fabric is way cute!

  4. Lennette says:

    Oh my gosh Donna, I absolutely love your Ball and Chain doll quilts with pillows!!!! They are ADORABLE!!!!! I especially LOVE LOVE LOVE the zebra one!!!! I think that’s just the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!!!!! Makes me wish my daughters were still little playing with dolls!!!! All I can say is you’d better still be making these when I finally get a granddaughter!!!!!!

  5. gaby says:

    ooh soo cute! I want to play with dolls again!!!

  6. LisaD in upstate NY says:

    All beautiful and/or adorable. I especially like the zebra with the lace. Your new blog page heading is wonderful. I remember when you used that fabric. It’s so nostalgic. Isn’t it wonderful to be retired and to find creative and productive ways to keep your mind sharp and enjoy life? I retired 3 years ago, had been making jewelry – stringing, wire working, and then I discovered seed beads. Absolutely a blast designing and weaving with those beads. Keep on doing what you’re doing! LisaD in upstate NY

  7. Crystal says:

    I can just imagine the look of delight on the face of a young “mommy” when she receives one of these sweet sets for her doll “baby”! :-)

  8. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone. Your comments mean a lot to me. They keep me going, creating and wanting to show you what I make. :D

    I love that zebra fabric too. I have two more cut and ready to sew.

    Debra, I think I got it at JoAnn’s. I bought so much fabric last month that it is all a blur. I told hubby it was either food or fabric. He went without dinner a couple times. LOL!!

    LisaD, I know what you mean about seed beads. So addicting. Have fun creating.

  9. Cool. I’ll have a look for it next time I am in Palmdale. Its so freaking cute!

Leave a Reply

