New Theme, New Look

Yep, you are at the Right Place!!

I changed the theme today. A new version of the old theme I was using. From Quentin to Quintus. It appears brighter, has a larger footprint. I am not 100% sure of the font color. Still experimenting with it and the header image.

Let me know if you are unable to locate something you previously could find.

Like it?

25 comments on “New Theme, New Look

  1. gaby says:

    Like the color, much clear. but the column of the right is too “long”.

  2. Font needs to be outlined if it stays that color. It blends into the image, doesn’t stand out.

  3. Debra says:

    I agree- you need a different font color for your header text- can’t even see the bottom line at all. Otherwise it looks good, though I’ve got to get used to it! I keep thinking I’m on the wrong site!

  4. Lillian Dummer says:

    I like it very much. They took me off the board I feel bad about it. I went on there to thank them for my Birthday wishes and it looked so different I could not get on the board .

  5. Crystal says:

    Lol, Donna!
    For a minute there you had me thinking:

    “…… I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore!” ;-)

    I like the general layout and uncluttered appearance. Once you get the banner the way you like it, it will be lovely! Fun to see one of your favorite interests (Titanic) incorporated into the design!
    xo

  6. don_mae says:

    Thanks, ladies. The new look is growing on me. I like that I have more bells and whistles to play with. I will see if I can get the header name darker.

  7. Tanya says:

    I don’t like the smaller font size in the right hand column. I liked the other way your site was before.

  8. Donna, I loaded the theme on a test site I have and here’s what you can do about the text not showing up.

    In the theme’s header option page, upload a new header image with the text (blog title and tagline) already added on it in the appropriate colors. Then choose “no” for display text.

    Problem solved!

    • don_mae says:

      That is EXACTLY the look I want. Hope I can figure it out. Thanks!! :D

      (I moved “the delightful way” to the left a bit so it wouldn’t interfere with the blog name.)

  9. don_mae says:

    :(

    I can’t figure out how you did that. I remove the photo. Removed the blog name. Readded it. But can’t get it like you have it.

  10. Hmmm… not sure what you did there. I uploaded it as it to my test site and it looks fine. Did you alter the file somehow?

  11. Okay, on your header menu, try clicking restore original header text.
    Then choose the new file you uploaded with the text I added to it as your header image.
    Set display text to “no.”

    The only other thing I can think might be causing a problem is if you altered the CSS at some point?

    • don_mae says:

      Nope, didn’t alter anything. Don’t even know what CSS is. I played around with it for about 15 minutes. Deleted the image and the text, started from scratch. Then added back the image. Set it for no text. I just can’t get it to look “boxed and outlined” like you have it. And my subtitle still looked faded out. So I deleted it. No clue how the black box around my blog name appeared. I think my problem is not knowing how to select from the color wheel.

      I really appreciate you trying to help me.

      • don_mae says:

        Duh!! LOL!!

        It finally hit me that you created this for me with your own fonts and saved it as a jpg file.

        Thanks so much. You are a sweetie!!

  12. LOL Better late then never! :p Probably didn’t help that I chose fonts fairly similar to the ones it used in the first place.

    And you’re very welcome. I love doing little things like this here and there. Gives me something to do when I’d just be wandering around the internet otherwise. :)

  13. don_mae says:

    Hey Debra!!

    Maybe you can help me with this, too. I have always wanted to learn how to “capture” a photo of a Treasury List but don’t know how to do it.

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/MTQ3NTYwNzh8NjAwMTY5Mjcy/purple-haze

  14. Like a screen shot? This one is easy enough too. :) Once you learn, you’ll do it all the time.

    Open the page you want to capture. Maximize the window so you can see everything you can see.

    Now, on your keyboard, you’re going to press down Alt + Prnt Scrn. The print screen button should be over and just above backspace.

    Now, open up whatever program you use to edit graphics. Could be Paint, Photoshop (or Elements), whatever. Open up a new document. If it’s in Photoshop, it’ll automatically open the right size, just click okay.

    Then after its open, his Cont + V to paste your screen capture into the document.

    Save it, and you’re done!

    Let me know if that doesn’t work/isn’t what you meant. :)

  15. ERm… I said that backwards. No ALT = everything, ALT = only the active window.

    • don_mae says:

      Hey, Debra. I have used the print screen key before but it only gives me a snapshot, a portion of the screen. I have seen some blogs with the full Treasury List with small images. That’s what I am trying to do, if possible.

      And I get the same result with Alt or without Alt.

      Thanks for helping me (again, :D ).

      • You’re only going to get the portion you can see at that time in the screenshot. To Get all of it, you’ll have to take a screenshot, scroll down, take another, and so on, til you get all of it. Then you’ll have to piece it together in whatever program you use for graphics.

  16. Oh Donnnnaaaa…. I have something for you. :) I cropped it down to just the collection, none of the peripherals. I hope that works for you.

    http://prettycanhurt.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/etsycollection-purplehaze.jpg

    Lots of cool stuff in there, including your basket!

Leave a Reply

