New Striped Pillow Covers With Buttons

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You saw a peek at my new pillow cover in my last post. Actually there are two of them.

A large one and a smaller one.

And guess what?? Surprise!! Surprise!! No quilting. You know I thought about it. But knowing quilting would shrink the fabric a bit and I had already decided on the pillow forms, I didn’t want to take a chance everything wouldn’t all fit together. So… no quilting. (I am as shocked as you!! :D )

I made the smaller one first by scraping together several plum fabrics left over from my little girl purses days a few years ago. Then I added lime and burgundy prints.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The lining is an avocado solid cotton I bought YEARS ago. I don’t use solids much so decided it would be the perfect way to use some of it.

My original plan was to sew different sizes of rectangles. But after seeing the strips lined up, I decided to go with long strips instead. I made the fabric piece wide enough for the ends to overlap and completely cover the pillow form.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After deciding how much to overlap the folds, I got to sewing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The FRONT. Envelope completed.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s what the inside fold looks like.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ready for the buttons. I rarely use buttons. But since I have about 1,000, it was time to use some of them. Used floss to sew them on.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

They are just decoration. They don’t connect anything. Just sit and look pretty!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Going for a finished look, I sewed buttons on the backside of the larger buttons. I thought seeing just thread there would look tacky.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, there you have it…. HOW I MADE A STRIPED PILLOW COVER.

The Front.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The Back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


The larger pillow cover was made with the same steps as the smaller one. With one exception. The buttons for this one actually DO do something. They close up the envelope flap.

I made loops out of one of the plum prints and filled it with cord as I sewed the sides together. To give them a fuller, rounded look.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

FRONT

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BACK

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hope you have enjoyed seeing my new pillow covers. I have others in the works.

9 comments on “New Striped Pillow Covers With Buttons

  1. Anne says:

    So pretty! Love the fun buttons and the corded closures. Excellent job.

  2. Hi Donna
    Your color selection is perfect. Do you use a color wheel or do you have a natural feel for color? The pillows are really pretty.
    Carol

    • don_mae says:

      Thank you, Carol. I do have one of those color wheels you find in the quilting notions section but haven’t used it. Mainly I put fabrics together and then look at them through the camera lenses. I frequently toss out or add in different fabrics based on what I see.

  3. Debra says:

    They look great Donna! Love them!

  4. Lennette says:

    Your pillows are AWESOME Donna!!! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…I am in awe of your creativity and your ability to take an idea and run with it!!!!! I love your color choices!!!!! If I had just 1/10th of your talent, I would be a happy lady!!!!!

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    Awesome! You’re giving me ideas!

  6. Carol Keene says:

    Donna,
    It’s been a while since I’ve commented, but I feel you need to be enlightened once again. Your humor, creativity, honesty, articulation, organization and photographic skills make your blog SO fun and worthwhile to read. Thank you for inviting us into your world and “edu-taining” us on a regular basis. You’re a bundle/skein/spool of energy and we, your readers, love you.
    Carol

  7. don_mae says:

    Thank you everyone. I truly appreciate your comments.

    Making pillow covers is so addicting. I would make them all day if my To Make List was shorter.

Leave a Reply

