Recycle #5: “By Sea” Jeans Handbag

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Doesn’t this fabric remind you of the Titanic? As soon as I saw it, I knew I would buy it.

Just finished this jeans handbag today. You are the first to see it. That is, first after hubby. He had to put his stamp of approval on it. After all, these were once HIS  jeans. :D

The FRONT.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is my original design. It came out EXACTLY as the picture I was working from in my head.

The BACK.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used the following harvested pieces.

  • 1 leg
  • 1 waistband
  • 7 belt loops
  • 2 back pockets
  • 2 back strips (under waistband area)

Here are a few photos I took as I was making it.

I first removed the back pockets. Yep. Completely removed them. Then I lined them with black polka dot fabric and sewed them on the leg section. One on the top and one on the bottom. Then I made my own pockets out of the “By Sea” fabric to go next to the denim ones.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can see the pocket lining in this photo. I used the same for the purse lining. Black polka dots.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The waistband was completely stripped. All the seams, top stitching and belt loops were removed. Then I split the band down the middle. I needed it in two strips to be able to do what I wanted to do.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There are two pockets on the inside. One smaller made from the lining fabric. And this one I quilted.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These were used to make the purse handles.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And there is a FIRST here, too. My first time adding a magnetic clasp to a purse. It was easy to do. I reinforced the area with really thick Pellon.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made a belt to go through the belt loops. It is 27″ end to end. A scarf would go great here too, instead of the belt.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The whole thing measures 20″ height (including handles), 13″ across, 2 3/4″ width. It is a nice sized bag.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And it can stand up alone.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ok, that was fun!! Back to stippling. :D


This is an original design by This Year’s Dozen.

Please respect Copyright Laws and not copy, post or distribute the instructions without written permission. However, it is ok to make this jeans handbag for personal use. Please link back to this post. Thanks!!

13 comments on “Recycle #5: “By Sea” Jeans Handbag

  1. LisaD in upstate NY says:

    I love, love, love that bag! Good job!!!

  2. abbie2001 says:

    OK This is my purse! LOL You all just forget about wanting to buy it.

  3. KipperCat says:

    Donna, this is fabulous! I have no patience for sewing these days, so I love to see someone being so creative with a sewing machine.

  4. Hi Donna
    Its a great design.
    Does your brain EVER quit?!?
    xx, Carol

  5. denise says:

    L-O-V-E this!! Nothing else to say, lol!!

  6. Tanya says:

    Your creativity is endless!
    Thanks for sharing the instructions!

  7. Maria K says:

    Fantastic! Need it for my beach vacation!

  8. digipicsphotography says:

    I like it!

  9. Debra says:

    The only thing that would make this better was if it was blue denim. Other then that, LOVE! Especially the belt detail. :)

  10. don_mae says:

    Thank you for your wonderful comments on my jeans bag. Really appreciate each and every one.

    Now I plot out the 2nd one. Have several ideas.

  11. Linda Ansbch says:

    Love your bag . I have a special admiration for anything denim! Can hardly wait for the next one.

Leave a Reply

