Finally… Quilt Top #1 Is Getting Quilted

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It had to happen… eventually, right? I just can’t keep making quilt tops without completing the process of actually quilting them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is the first one I made. So, it gets quilted first. I struggled sewing it. Makes sense that I struggle quilting it. It took me about 3 hours getting the “sandwich” just so and pinning the layers.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I haven’t purchased an extension table yet for my sewing machine so I had to improvise. My mini ironing board to the rescue. It actually is working out great.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The fabric for the back is some blah brown print I got for half off several months ago. It is ok for the first one. And was just the right size. That is after I took 3 yards and sewed them side-by-side to another 3 yards. I had read somewhere not to put a seam down the center of the backing fabric. Too late!! But I did do a French Seam and reinforced the seam TWICE when starting it AND double stitched it again for the final seam. Nothing is going to pull out those stitches!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I decided to free motion quilt it using the stippling design for all around the outer part and in between the Drunkard Path circles. For the circles, I am going to attempt curved lines.

Here is what it looks like after two hours. I am showing you the backside so you can see my handiwork. I am half way around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My bobbin ran out three times. My left arm was getting heavy and my shoulder was starting to hurt. Break time!!

After I wind some bobbins I will get back started. Tomorrow. :D

9 comments on “Finally… Quilt Top #1 Is Getting Quilted

  1. abbie2001 says:

    It’s really looking pretty! I can’t wait to see it when it’s completed.

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    You are doing so good with that freemotion quilting. I have 3 table toppers/runners that I have to quilt and may practice with them.

  3. Debra says:

    Looking good Donna! I was wondering when you were going to finish this up! :p

  4. digipicsphotography says:

    I’m practicing! Not good at it, yet. But I’m working on it. You’re my inspiration!

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks much for your encouragement. I need it!! :D

    Debra, yep, they were starting to pile up and were staring at me. LOL!!

    Sharon, I am STILL practicing. Go as fast as you can on some scrap sandwiches. That is what I did.

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    Yeah it is easier when I go faster. Now I need to get my movements smoother and not so jerky, LOL!

  7. Wow! What a great job at free-motion!

Leave a Reply

