How To Make A Quilted Pillowcase (Like Mine)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Actually, the band at the top is quilted. Not the whole pillowcase.

I figured why not share how I am making these so you can reduce your fabric stash. Maybe even use up some of the scrap pieces piling up.

Here are the supplies you will need.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

  • 3 main fabric pieces
  • scrap fabric for the band strips
  • cotton batting
  • thread
  • quilting grip gloves
  • sewing pins, quilting pins
  • cutting mat, rotary cutter, rulers
  • tape measure
  • scissors
  • sewing feet (walking foot, free motion foot, 1/4″ foot)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Go gather up a bunch of fabric pieces at least 5″ in length. I am using mostly 6″ or longer to allow for trimming. The widths can be different.

And you will need three main fabrics. One for the band which will be sewn to the “strips”. And two fabrics for the body. That is… if you make your pillowcase like I made mine. You will want to make strips for the band out of the main fabrics as well. To blend with the scrap pieces.

Fabric 1 Red polka dot (band) 1/2 yd
Fabric 2 Black and white small cow print (border) 1/2 yd
Fabric 3 Spaceships with blue background (body) 1 yd

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


OK, ready to sew?

PILLOWCASE TOP BAND

Cut and sew fabric strips together to measure approximately 43″ in length. Mix up colors and patterns. Mix up light and dark. (Assume 1/4″ seams unless otherwise noted.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Press seams all in one direction.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Trim band strip using the shortest piece as your guide.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Using the fabric you selected for your band, cut one piece 9″ by length of your strip.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Lay strip along the bottom (right sides together) and sew together. Press seam in direction of Fabric 1, Red polka dot.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Fold in half, line up edges.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Cut a piece of cotton batting the length of the fabric strip PLUS about an inch on both sides and along the bottom.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The top of the batting will lay against the band fold. See photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Pin the “quilt sandwich”. Put in enough pins to keep layers from shifting as you sew.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilt the layers. I free motion quilted mine. Stippled. You can use whatever design you prefer. Trim off the excess batting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

PILLOWCASE BODY-Horizontal

From Fabric 2 (Cow print), cut one 2 1/2″ strip the length of the band.
From Fabric 3 (Spaceships), cut one piece 25″ by length of the band.

Make a French Seam, sew Fabric 2 to the top of Fabric 3. Start with wrong sides together. If you don’t know how to make a French Seam, go here for instructions.

http://www.sewneau.com/how.to/french.seam.html

http://www.colettepatterns.com/blog/tutorials-tips-tricks/tutorial-how-to-create-a-french-seam

Repeat. Make a French Seam, sew band to body. See photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

PILLOWCASE-Side and Bottom

To connect the sides, line up pillowcase sides, trim if needed. Wrong sides together, sew a French Seam. Same as you did above. You may need to switch to a sturdier needle, like a denim needle. That is what I used. The fabric will be bulky here. And use your Walking Foot.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Almost done!!

One last thing to do. Sew up the bottom. Prepare fabric. Align, press, trim bottom edges if needed.

Sew a French Seam to close up the bottom. As you may have guessed, ALL SEAMS will be raw edge free and enclosed. Nothing to fray.

OK, now turn pillowcase right side out. Poke out the bottom corners. And done. Will fit the standard size pillow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Enjoy!!


Go here for great pillowcase tutorials. I got my inspiration from this site.

http://www.allpeoplequilt.com/millionpillowcases/freepatterns/

11 comments on “How To Make A Quilted Pillowcase (Like Mine)

  1. Belinda says:

    Your creativity never ceases to inspire me!

    Thanks for sharing the directions for this pillowcase. I make simple ones, but now I want to sew some different “styles” of pillowcases. By the way, I have that same blue spaceship print fabric. :)

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks much, Belinda.

      I made 2 more. With one left to sew. That’s how long my “strip” was. I just kept sewing them until I ran out of cut pieces. :D

      What are you going to do with your spaceship fabric?

      • Belinda says:

        Donna, I already used that spaceship fabric. Because I like to sew for charity, I made a boy’s scrub set out of it. One of the local hospitals provides scrubs to children who are abused, if it is necessary to take their clothing for evidence.

  2. abbie2001 says:

    Thank you for the directions for making your pillowcase. I love the colors you picked for yours. You are very detailed in showing us how to make this so I don’t think there would be any problems for an amateur like me. LOL

  3. Debra says:

    Every time I see your pillowcases, I want to make some of my own. Just need to find the right fabrics to do it. :)

    • Debra says:

      Wanna guess what I’m gonna do tonight? I’m gonna make pillow covers for the couch pillows. But following your quilting lead, I’m going to piece them together. Not quilt them, but its kind of related!

      • don_mae says:

        Wanna guess what I am doing RIGHT NOW? :D

        Making more quilted spaceship pillow cases.

        And I made a quilted pillow cover yesterday in wine/blue/gold that came out very nice. I plan to make more. I think I have a bunch of pillows in the basement. From my years of changing colors every couple of years. Plenty for me to make new covers for.

        Have fun. And don’t forget to show me (us) what you make.

  4. Debra says:

    LOL I finished one, and posted it to my blog. Of course there’s a huge tuft of dog hair in my picture right next to the pillow, even though I just vacuumed the couch and living room. I may do the other one when Mattie gets home, or maybe tomorrow night. I’m planning switching the red and black fabrics for the other one though.

    That spaceship fabric is just too cute!

  5. Tina says:

    I love it! At first I thought, what a great idea to make as a Christmas gift for a sweet lil one in my life..then I thought of a dozen other ways to make a quilted pillow case top. But I was curious..do you have a sewing machine made specially for quilting? I don’t and I am wondering if a regular ol sewing machine would work? Anyways loved it! Thank you for sharing! :)

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Tina, thanks much for your comments on my work.

      I have a Janome Memory Craft 10001. It is more of an embroidery machine than a quilting machine. Has the hoops, and hundreds of designs. I probably played around with the embroidery all of 24 hours over the last 5 years. :D

      It is perfect for the little bit of quilting that I do. It has a walking foot and a free motion foot. If you have those, then you are all set. But you probably can make my pillowcase without those two feet. If you do French seams, the sides will be super thick and hard to sew into. It should work though with just a denim needle and lots of patience.

      If you make one, please let me know. Would love to see it. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

