Designing Doggie Placemats

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have been working on these pet placemats for about five days. The idea came to me when I was sorting through my fabric, matching up what I thought went together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I knew what I wanted them to look like so I got started. Cutting, sewing and quilting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My least favorite task was sewing the binding on the backside. By hand. It is a snooze inducer. I fell asleep several times. But finally finished the last one sometime today.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I saw quite a few pet placemats on Etsy and knew mine needed to stand out from the crowd. So… I added a few embellishments. A ring to go around a rolled up placemat. With fabric dogs and dangling charms.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Each placemat measures approximately 18″ by 14″. And is reversible.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The red doggy fabric is called Whiskers and Tails. By Lorilynn Simms for the Robert Kaufman Co. Paw print fabric was a Fat Quarter and the other two, not sure, but I bought them by the yard. All fabric came from JoAnn’s.

I really enjoyed making these placemats. I am going to make up more. Think Christmas presents!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This is an original design by This Year’s Dozen.

Please respect Copyright Laws and do not distribute, copy, post on the Internet or share with anyone without written permission. Thanks!!

8 comments on “Designing Doggie Placemats

  1. Debra says:

    hehe What a cute idea Donna!

  2. Hi Donna
    The roll ring is a very creative idea. These place mats are such a cute idea especially for those that have little doggy divas!
    xx, Carol

  3. Betty says:

    Hi Donna

    The Doggie placemats are very nice. But I think the
    dog would have a hard time getting it away from me. They would make beautiful table mats.

  4. Crystal says:

    A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E!!!! :-)

    I agree with Betty – they would be great table mats, too. I can imagine a set of 4 (in any fabric) with your charm rings as the “napkin rings”. How gorgeous would that be on a table!?!

  5. Betsy says:

    This is such a great idea. My dog makes such a mess around her bowl with her water and nothing has worked to keep her from tracking it all over the house. These would work great! Then everyone in our family would have a placemat.

  6. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone. I am going to fill up that basket!!

    But first, I started on a cat one. It ended up too large so I am turning it into a pillow. (I hope.) :D

  7. gaby says:

    Beautiful! I love it!!

    Where are you,Donna!!??
    We miss you!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Awww… How sweet!!

      I am here. Sewing up a storm. And QUILTING!! I just need to take photos so I can show you.

      You are a sweetheart. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

