Quilting Tip #6: My “Star Ruler”

As I learn how to quilt, I have been thinking of the repetitive steps and ways to improve the process. Reduce time frames.

Here’s one of my ideas.

Tip #6.

Introducing my new Star Ruler.

I got tired of picking up my ruler to measure the distance between the points. Sometimes I used my large ruler, sometimes the smaller one. The markings on both are different. And I didn’t want to permanently “mark” on them.

So… I created this. I am calling it my Star Ruler. Don’t know if anyone else has thought of it. I didn’t see any mention of it in any of the instructions for making this quilted star. And I found several pattern instructions on the net. That said, I am claiming ownership of this ruler and naming it, Donna’s Star Ruler.

Here it is.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

At a glance I can see if my points are spaced correctly. And can make adjustments as needed. So simple. But has saved me so much time.

How did I make it?

I used one of the hundreds of VHS hard plastic covers no longer in use at my house. I cut along the spine.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Perfectly aligned tips.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am working on other time reducers. More on them later. Still trying them out.


Go here to see my other tips on making a folded quilted star.

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/01/15/quilting-star-tips/

4 comments on “Quilting Tip #6: My “Star Ruler”

  1. Nana betty says:

    So glad you FINALLY took up quilting, but the star ruler?
    Now you are just showing off!!
    GREAT IDEA !!

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    Do you have any quilting rulers? If not, you should get a couple. They are really time savers.

Leave a Reply

