My First Quilted Item Is Finished

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What a relief!! My test star is done.

I can actually say I have quilted something. I have wanted to learn quilting for years but kept putting it off for fear of the rotary cutter and not wanting to go through life with one or two less fingers. But it wasn’t so bad. Toward the end, I was cutting without my Klutz glove.

This is how my star looked when I showed it to you two days ago, on Tuesday. Pinned to my macrame board.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The center fabric didn’t stand out enough. It blended with the second fabric and was hard to see. So I recut those squares using the purple dotted fabric. Same as the last round.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I am glad I goofed in cutting the solid purple fabric. I like this arrangement much better.

Here’s everything all sewn together. I used the sewing machine to tack the tips. I sewed between the two folds. And then I sewed along the bottom straight edges.

I used one of my metal rings as a guide to mark where to sew the circle.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then I added the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I chose the floral fabric for the edging and cut a bias strip about 30″ long, 2 1/2″ wide. I folded the strip in half long ways. Then folded both sides down toward the center, ironed it flat and made it into a circle.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is how the back looked before I hand stitched the edging.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And finished!! Yay!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am REALLY happy with this. Now I will make another one using the valentine and animal print fabrics.


Here is the link to the star in case you wish to make your own.

http://bronzewombat.blogspot.com/2008/12/folded-star-or-somerset-patchwork.html

10 comments on “My First Quilted Item Is Finished

  1. Debra says:

    Pretty! I knew it would turn out nice!

  2. Robbie payne says:

    Your first quilted project!! OK, now I’m totally impressed!

  3. Kokopelli says:

    WOW! Love it! Well done!

  4. teresa curtis says:

    Beautiful! Good job!

  5. Crystal says:

    Oh it looks wonderful, Donna! Can’t wait to see the next one. :-)

  6. Lillian says:

    I wish I lived near you I would take you out for lunch. Can’t wait for quilty and all the girls to see it. Excellent excellent please keep the glove on.

  7. Betty says:

    Donna, your first quilted piece looks so professional.
    The colors are so beautiful. You did an wonderful job.

  8. don_mae says:

    Thanks so much, everyone. I love reading your comments.

    I am working on a 2nd star now. Cutting out the squares.

  9. Maria K says:

    WOW! It is really fantastic! Can’t wait to see your next one!

  10. Julia P says:

    Oh Donna, it turned out gorgeous!! For a first piece that is amazing!!! Got the beads, they’re beautiful, just a little bigger than I imagined! LOL all due to my ignorance about sizes yet. I’m learning though and I already have some ideas for them. When I get something done, I’ll send you a pic!

Leave a Reply

