Testing… Testing… Here’s My Test Quilted Star

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am so glad I decided to make a test star first. I knew I would probably make lots of mistakes. And boy, did I.

Well, let me tell you all about it.

Here are the test fabrics. I only had a wee bit of the first two. So I needed to be extra careful cutting them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Cutting first fabric. Going good. Rotary Cutter cooperating. Except I am not pressing down hard enough for a clean cut. Having to reswipe several times.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

FIRST MISTAKE. Making Little Party Hats. I could have sworn the instructions said to fold the squares this way. I couldn’t figure out why they didn’t turn out like the pattern photos. Duh!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ok. Back on track. Reironed. Folded correctly.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Assembling Round 1 fabrics. I am using my macrame board (ceiling tile) to mount the pieces so I can get an idea on what I am supposed to do.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s my cotton fabric with placement lines.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I decided to add a small piece of the first fabric in the middle so no white could peek through.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And Round 1 is finished. Going great so far.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

On to Round 2. A pretty purple and fuchsia floral. No problems.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Round 3 and another CRS Senior moment. Wouldn’t you know it. I cut the solid purple fabric wrong. The fabric I only had a teensy bit of. I cut 7″ by 6″ instead of 7″ square. Not enough left to cut eight 7″ squares. :(

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Had to go find something else. Decided on this cream color. The floral pattern has some cream in it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is NOT the look I had in mind. But I keep going anyway. After all, this IS just my Test Star. No biggie.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Last Round. Round 4. A dotted fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I’ll be back tomorrow to show you the finished star. It still needs to be sewn together and a binding added. It is just pinned to my macrame board. And I think I am going to swap the darker purple print in the center with something brighter.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

9 comments on “Testing… Testing… Here’s My Test Quilted Star

  1. LOL! Glad I’m not the only one who had a learning curve on that star.

    I like your test fabrics…it’s pretty, Donna!

  2. DeeDee Nunez says:

    It looks great. Can’t wait to see the finished project all sewn together.

  3. Betty says:

    The color go so well together. You make it look easy.
    I am thinking I want that white hat and a matching scarf, and gloves. Is that something I can get?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Betty!!

      Are you talking about the crocheted scalloped set? I don’t have any gloves to go with that set.

      I’ll e-mail you. :D

  4. garden2day says:

    Beautiful colors – it really looks great!

  5. Debra says:

    Looks good so far Donna! Your “real” star will look fantastic I’m sure!

  6. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone!! I really appreciate your comments. This is SO new to me. And the rotary cutter isn’t so bad after all. But I make sure to put on my Klutz glove before cutting. Don’t want to take any chances.

    I did end up switching the center fabric. Now I am liking it better.

  7. digipicsphotography says:

    You’re doing great.

  8. Crystal says:

    Ohhh purples!!! ;-)
    My heart sunk when I saw that the one purple didn’t work out, though! lol

    It looks as if you are well on your way to a beautiful result (as always!) :-)

Leave a Reply

