Things To Toss By The End of 2011

By now you are thinking about the new year. 2011. And making plans. Jotting them down.

At the top of most lists is probably Weight Loss.

I know it is at the top of mine. I always say, “by the end of the year, I want to be so many pounds lighter.” Does it happen? Usually not. Maybe just a pound or two. Frustrating!!

But there are other ways to get “lighter” without the frustration. You don’t only have to focus on your body.

What about the clutter here and there? Look around.

I did. I looked ALL around me. And saw many things just taking up space. Things others could be wearing, sharing and caring about.

I already go into “reorg mode” several times a year. Spring Cleaning, Switching Out Summer Clothes To Fall, Donating To Charity Before Year’s End. But this year I plan to step it up. Go lean throughout the year.

It will be hard to let go of some things… not being used, collecting dust and falling into the antique category.

But… I have my box ready.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To fill with Things To Toss By The End of 2011.

Instead of obsessing on losing weight, I am just going to say I want to be more active. More organized. And maybe the “pounds” lighter will happen as a result.

Is your box ready?

(And don’t forget the clipboard. You will need a list of donated items for your tax preparer.)

9 comments on “Things To Toss By The End of 2011

  1. Gaby says:

    For me is hard to let go my old clothes which, to be honest, doesn’t fit me any more!!! But I keep the faith that one day I could(can?¿) use it again. :)

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Gaby, I used to have 4 closets FULL of clothes. In different sizes. :(

      I eventually donated most of the too small ones. Shipped off the too large ones to my sister. Keeping those I could wear now. And even some of those could be pared down. Since I reach for the comfortable favorites most of the time.

      Just think… if your plan is to get thinner, won’t you want NEW clothes showing off your new curves? :D

  2. Debra says:

    I have been much better about letting things go since I moved in with my bf. His house is small and there’s no room for all of my clutter, so I only really have what I need here, with small portions of hobby material- my beading stuff is stacked neatly in a corner, my sewing stuff will be here on an as-needed basis, and I just just a small pile of books here.

    Every few trips to my mom’s I sort of more of my stuff there to be gotten rid of. Its slow going, but eventually I might have my possessions down to a manageable mess.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, I make a game of it.

      I will put stuff to donate in my car. One item or box at a time. When the car is filled, except for the passenger seat, I head off to the donation place.

      I used to call for a pick-up but they only come on Wednesday’s in my neighborhood. When I want it gone, I want it gone.

      Have fun sewing and making your doggy coats. (I saw it on your blog.)

      • Debra says:

        Hmm.. there’s an idea! I should make myself collect one box or bag of stuff to go each time I go out to my mom’s house.

        The doggy coats have turned out to be super quick and easy to do! And I have tons of fleece scraps too big to trash but too small to use for myself in different prints. I did make a few small changes to the pattern as I went as I didn’t like the way they turned out following the directions, and I think my changes are a big improvement on it. Basically instead of stitching the inner and outer layers together, turning it, and then stitching on the belly straps, I sewed the belly straps on before I turned it so the edges are enclosed completely. Also top stitched the whole thing when I was done. And wow is the small size one TINY!

  3. Crystal says:

    Wonderful idea to keep the box handy at all times as a “reminder”!

    I am going to need more than one box, LOL!

    Actually, I plan to fill a few boxes and donate them right away. Then, I’ll keep that one empty box to add to as the year goes by. I really think I need to be better about letting something go, if I buy something new.

    Thanks for the great suggestion! :-)

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal,

      Yep, more than one box for me too, usually. And bags of stuff. I love seeing their faces at the Charity when they help me unload and see all that I am donating. Makes me feel good.

      Wash Day is a great day for filling up the Box. Stuff that is clean… but now too small, slightly discolored or didn’t come out as intended.

  4. yanti says:

    Hi, Donna.
    Let me introduce my self
    I’m Yanti from Indonesia.
    I like your blog a lot. In fact, you inspiring me to be more creative woman.

    Thanks Donna.

Leave a Reply

