Finally Gonna Learn To Quilt, Yay!!

The new year is here. Time to start fresh. Time to think of new things to do and try.

For me, it will be doing something I have never done before. Quilting. This month I will be wayyyyy out of my comfort zone.

Quilting? Yep. Quilting.

Well, not the quilting you may be thinking about. Not a quilt for a bed. Not even a mini quilt for around the knees. But quilting just the same.

This is what I will attempt to make this month. A Folded Star.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here is the link to the pattern.

http://bronzewombat.blogspot.com/2008/12/folded-star-or-somerset-patchwork.html

I can usually visualize coordinating colors with my jewelry but with fabrics I wasn’t so sure. I “think” these will go well together. Think. Not 100% confident. Going to try it anyway with a Valentine’s Day theme. With pink, black and brown and a bit of red.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And this one could be the backside.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What can happen? I’ll hate it. Or I’ll love it. We shall see.

So.. stick around. You wouldn’t want to miss my 1st Quilted Item, would you!!

21 comments on “Finally Gonna Learn To Quilt, Yay!!

  1. Zainab says:

    Wish you all the best in your project and a Happy New Year 2011.

  2. Crystal says:

    I had to smile when I saw this! I used to make these by the dozens to sell long ago – during my craft fair days. You chose a great first project – it’s very QUICK to make and so much FUN!!! Glad to see they are still around.

    Knowing you, you’ll make bunches of them!

    Hugs, Crystal :-)

  3. Nancy says:

    love the colors! They should go well together!
    I made some folded star items many years ago, but have lost the original pattern. I sewed my folded star “quilts” into those rattan plate holders to make a wall hanging. Would you please send me a link to the pattern?

  4. Nancy says:

    ps – just found the link to the directions – THANK you

  5. Kokopelli says:

    Haha, we talked her into it! Nice pattern and I love the fabrics you chose. You’ll love quilting.

  6. Debra says:

    I just read the tutorial and that does look easy! I can see myself being able to get through this with minimal frustration although I’m not sure what I would do with it after I made it. Looks cool though. :) I think your fabric choices are going to look really cute together!

  7. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks much for your encouragement. I need it!!

    I am still not completely happy with my fabric selections.

    What I really wanted was a brown leopard print and a black and white zebra print like in my 1st fabric. But I searched and searched and could not find what I was looking for in 100% cotton.

    I am headed to JoAnn’s today to see if I can find it there. They didn’t have it on-line but I am hoping, just maybe, I can find it at one of their stores.

    We only have one other place I know of that sells fabric. Haberman’s. And I already checked there. Didn’t have it.

    • Julia P says:

      Donna, I love the fabrics, they should look great together! My grandmother quilted big time, wish I had her frame, my grandfather made it for her, but my folks got rid of it years ago. :o(

  8. teresacurtis says:

    No pressure here…..but I’m confident that what you make is going to be amazing. Have fun!

  9. Belinda says:

    I am glad that your poor neglected sewing machine will be getting some love, and that you are diving into the world of quilting. :D You will probably become addicted to quilting, and then you’ll start designing beautiful quilts–just like you did with your beaded jewelry and your crochet. ;) :D

  10. DeeDee Nunez says:

    I have no quilting experience whatsoever, but this pattern you’ve chosen has really caught my eye. Thank you for posting the link to the tutorial. I hope to make it some time.

  11. Carol says:

    I think your fabric choices are FAB!!
    I absolutely love the first piece. I love animal print and am currently obsessed with hot pink. Now I gotta go see if I can find some of what YOU got ~lol~

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Carol, thanks much!!

      I got it early December at JoAnn’s on-line. I searched for it a couple days ago to buy more but it was no longer on the site. It’s item # 1359983. Holiday Inspiration Cotton.

  12. don_mae says:

    I think I will do a test run first. With other fabrics I won’t care if I mess up.

    I did check ebay for the fabric I was looking for. Lots of furry fabric.

  13. maria k says:

    WOW, those fabrics are fantastic! Can’t wait to see the result. I love classic quilt patterns with modern fabrics…gee maybe I should add this to my crafting to do list…if only I had 6 more hrs in my day!

    ps–loved your comment on Small Notebook, an Undies Quilt~you are talented And funny!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Maria K. Thanks much for your kind comments!!

      I know what you mean about needing more hours in the day. I stopped adding to my Want To Make Craft List. I used to print out everything I saw that I wanted to make. Now I just save it as a Bookmark if it’s on-line.

      Do come back later in the month to see my finished star. I have until the last day of this month to finish it for the challenge.

      Thanks again.

      Donna

  14. Carol says:

    Did you find the brown leopard print you want? I am a leopard print nut and I have a lot of different prints. Most have leopards in the print. If you’d like me to send some to you, let me know.

    I’m going to JoAnn this weekend. I didn’t see it in my store last week, but its closer to V=Day now so maybe they got more stock. Well, I need an excuse to to there, don’t I? !lol!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Carol, I did find a brown leopard print I am going to use. Thanks much for the offer. I’ll know where to go when all the stores run out of their stock. LOL!!

      I hope you are able to find that pink heart one. As soon as I saw it on-line, I put it in the Shopping Cart. :D

Leave a Reply

