How To Make A Beaded Toggle Bar

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Beaded toggle bars are easy to make. Even if you don’t know the peyote stitch that well.

One thing I suggest. Do resist the temptation to continue from your beadwork directly to the toggle bar. Always end your current thread. And start with a fresh thread to connect the toggle bar.

Reasons?

  • you make a mistake on placement and need to undo it
  • bar is too large or too small and you want to remake it
  • need to change the number of beads leading to the bar
  • etc, etc.

If you had continued with the same thread as your beadwork, you could possibly ruin your item trying to make these changes. Been there. Done that.

This is what works for me. And I have tried various combinations of seed beads/rows.

Using 8/0 seed beads, gauge how many you will need. I have tried 14, 16, 18 and 20 seed beads.  Peyote for 4 rows. Meaning when you count the beads at the top and bottom, you count 4.


Instructions for Beaded Toggle Bar

Step 1

String 20 seed beads. I used size 8/0. Add a bead stopper.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 2

Beginning on the end opposite the bead stopper, working upward, start adding beads.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Continue adding beads/rows until you have 4 beads at the top and 4 beads at the bottom.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 3

Pinch the beadwork together between your fingers. I used a metal clip to illustrate the folding of the beads.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 4

Begin to sew the sides together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Zip up the sides by sewing into ONLY the high beads. Those sticking out further. Go from one side to the other, going upward. I like to reinforce the beadwork by going up and down the entire length of the toggle bar with the working thread. Also going up and back down with the tail thread. Try to come out of the same seed bead with both threads. CUT BOTH THREADS.

This is how your beaded toggle bar should look after sewing the sides together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 5

Once finished, one last thing to do. Insert a piece of inexpensive wire. Artistic Wire, I think mine is called.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Push it through the toggle bar almost to the end. Cut wire, file any burrs, now push the rest of the way. This extra step strengthens your toggle bar. The wire is in tight enough, no need to worry about it coming out. (You could sew a tiny 11/0 seed bead on the ends.)

Step 6

Connect toggle bar to your beadwork.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You decide how many seed beads are needed to comfortably go through the other end of your clasp.

OK. Now go get your bead stash and try making this toggle bar. And pocket the money you would normally spend buying commercial clasps. Enjoy!!


Supplies/Tools Used

  • Fireline beading thread
  • size 10 or 12 beading needle
  • 8/0 seed beads
  • 2″ piece of 20 gauge Artistic Wire
  • bead stopper
  • wire cutter
  • ruler

If you need help with the peyote stitching part, see my blog’s sidebar under Tutorials. Lots of help links there.

10 comments on “How To Make A Beaded Toggle Bar

  1. Carol says:

    Thanks!!
    I have never made one, but you certainly show how easy it is. Great Tut!

  2. Debra says:

    Donna, you are so good at showing how things are done! I had this one figured out as soon as you gave the row counts in another post, save for the stiffening wire, but its nice to see it “spelled out” too.

    I am going to my mom’s this evening, and am going to pick up some beads I seem to have missed bringing over here, and then I am going to try out that flat spiral stitch on a bracelet.

  3. don_mae says:

    Thank you both, very much.

    This toggle is super easy. Once you try it, you will certainly make more.

  4. Kokopelli says:

    Great instructions and great tips! That’s what I tell my students: start a new thread for the clasp. Always!

  5. Melanie says:

    Where could I find the pattern for the triangle bracelet? I am in Michigan and I think you are too, unless I am mistaken. Do you teach anywhere?Where do you shop?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Melanie, yes I am in Michigan.

      Sorry to say, but my skills haven’t advanced far enough for me to add “teacher” to my name. :D Maybe one day. For now, it’s just me and my beads and hundreds of designs running through my brain.

      I learned how to make the triangles from Beth Stone’s book, More Seed Bead Stitching. She has instructions to create the basic triangle in the book.

      After making the triangles, I played around with what I could do with them and came up with the idea for the bracelets I made. I just pressed one triangle inside the other and stitched. Hope this helps.

      I shop at the “usual” beading places. Michael’s, JoAnn, Munro Crafts, Too Cute Beads. On line, I like Fire Mountain Gems and Auntie’s Beads. I have been to a couple Bead Fest at the Southfield Civic Center. And of course, Etsy and eBay.

      Let me know if you have any other questions.

      BTW, are you ready for Michigan’s cold weather? :D

  6. Emma says:

    Thank you so much x

  7. janice says:

    thank for all the help in improving my jewelery making the tutorials are easy to follow keep up the good lessons .

Leave a Reply

