How To Make Flat Spiral Stitch Earrings

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s an easy project for you. I made the complete set. Necklace, bracelet and earrings.

To get you started… You can make just the earrings.


Supplies Needed To Make One Pair of Flat Spiral Stitch Earrings

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

  • 11/0 seed beads (black, red, white)
  • 4mm black bicone crystals (6 per earring)
  • black round glass beads (5 per earring)
  • pair of ear wires
  • 3mm CLOSED jumprings (2)
  • Fireline beading thread
  • beading needle size 10 or 12

Step 1

Cut 1 1/2 yards of Fireline, leaving a 7″ tail. Add a bead stopper. Pick up two (2) round black beads. Drop beads down to the bead stopper.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 2

Pick up 6 black seed beads, one 4mm black bicone, 6 red seed beads. Drop these down on top of the two black round beads added in Step 1.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Take thread up through the 2 black round beads. Thread should exit the top one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Pull tight. This creates the “black/red arch”, working bottom up. Push arch to the left.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 3

Pick up 6 black seed beads, one 4mm black bicone, 6 white seed beads. Drop these down on top of the black round beads. Take needle up through the two black round beads. Exit the top one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This completes one complete arch. Black/red on the left. Black/white on the right.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 4

Add one black round bead. Slide it down to rest on top of your beadwork.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 5

Pick up 6 black seed beads, one 4mm black bicone, 6 red seed beads. Drop these beads down on top of the black round bead you added in Step 4. Take needle up through the 2nd from bottom round black bead PLUS the one just added.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Pull tight. Push “black/red arch” to the left. Thread should exit the top black round bead.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 6

Pick up 6 black seed beads, one 4mm black bicone, 6 white seed beads. Repeat the same steps as used for the black/red arch.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now you should have two complete arches done.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 7

Repeat Steps 4, 5 and 6 once more to add the 3rd complete arch. Start by adding one black round bead. Slide down.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


That completes the arches. Your beadwork should now look like this. Make sure the black/red is on the left and black/white is on the right. Pull tight.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, now ready for the last step.

Step 8

Pick up two (2) black seed beads, one black round bead, one black seed bead, one 3mm CLOSED jumpring. Drop down.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

In reverse order. Go around the closed jump ring. And down through seed bead, round black bead, two seed beads. Continue down through the center of ALL black round beads. Exit bottom round bead.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Make your way back up the center of the black round beads. Back up to the top to loop around the closed jump ring. To secure it. Do this a couple times. Pull thread tight. Do the same with the tail thread. Bury it up the center. Cut thread. Add ear wire.

And done!! Now create the 2nd earring.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Enjoy!!


Here’s the necklace and bracelet.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

16 comments on “How To Make Flat Spiral Stitch Earrings

  1. Crystal says:

    Oh Donna! You and I both love the beautiful look of wearing black with red! :-)

    It’s funny I don’t seem to make jewelry using that combination – I should because I love it for my clothes!!

    Great tutorial, as always!!! I was thinking I might also like the earrings if one was the reverse of the other! I mean if – as you look at them – red was on the outside on both. I think they’d still look well-coordinated with the rest of the set. If only we had the time for all the possibilities! ;-) xo

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal!!

      Reversing the colors for the earrings is a GREAT idea!! I will have to do that.

      I didn’t post it but the entire set can be worn on the reverse side. Here’s a photo.

  2. Debra says:

    Wow! I had no idea this was so simple! Now I really do need to try it! Looks like I will be looking through my stash to see what I can use and give this a try soon. :) Bookmarking this tut so I can find it easy. :)

    • don_mae says:

      Yep, very easy!! Which is why I can’t stop making them. I am getting ready to do one in either blue or taupe. Whichever one I have enough supplies.

      You just keep making the arches until you reach the desired length, then add the clasp. I have been going back through each arch a 2nd time to reinforce. Takes longer but I don’t have to worry about the beads shifting and moving too much.

      Though I love how they look with crystals, I am going to try one with all seed beads, no crystals. To save on material costs.

      Hope you do try it.

      • Debra says:

        Donna, I gave this a try this evening and OMG! So easy with such a neat result! I love it! I used lime green and root beer 11/0 Dynomites for the seen bead parts, 4mm olive Czech Firepolish glass on the sides, and some big 10 or 12mm multicolor (mostly brown and sort of greenish blue) glass beads I’ve had for ages. I almost forgot to stop once it got to the length I wanted.

        I’m really glad I got to use the big beads, as I got them at a flea market- my friend and I bought a huge bad of stretchy bracelets made out of those beads, then cut the elastics, and bagged up the beads, dividing them between us. I’ve had them for like 4 years and never used them.

        I’ll post a picture of the bracelet I did tomorrow when I can get a shot of it in daylight.

        I’ll definitely be making more, and taking on doing a double row one. If I do that, I do it basically the same, but they will share the 4mm beads in the center, right?

      • Patricia says:

        Hi Donna,I was thinking of doing that too. what size of seed bead would you use for the centre.

        Pleae let me know what you think .

        Patricia

  3. Quilty says:

    Great tutorial, Donna. ;)
    I think even I could make a bracelet with those instructions. :D

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Quilty!! Yep, try it. You can change up the number of seed beads for the arches. The video I learned from used 5. I used 6 for the earrings since the seed beads were so small. Experiment to see which you like best. Let me know when you make one. :D

  4. don_mae says:

    Debra, I was just over at your site. Saw your flat spiral stitch bracelet. It came out really great. I like the colors you used.

    Yep, to make the 2nd row, you use your 4mm beads and the one seed bead before AND after it to create the 2nd row.

    http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2010/09/03/siam-bracelet-2-row-flat-spiral-stitch/

    Good luck. Can’t wait to see it.

  5. Suzanne says:

    Thank you for posting the instructions! I have been looking for written instructions on how to do this. Those are absolutely beautiful! Thanks!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks Suzanne.

      I hope you will try it and send me photos of what you make. I’ll post them in my “You Made It” gallery.

  6. don_mae says:

    Hi Patricia, if I were to make this with all seed beads and not the larger center beads, I would use the largest seed bead I could find. Probably a size 6. I think that would make a large enough contrast for the other smaller size seed beads. Hope this helps. Thanks for the question.

    • Patricia says:

      Hi donna,

      Many thanks for answering ,and explaing. XX Donna

      I thought perhaps like you #6 for the inside core. #8 to replace the 4mm bicones and #11 on the sides. Of course it will be much slimmer as a chain,BUT perhaps just as lovely too ;-) I am so happy to have found your site. Your work is SO LOVELY. XXX

      Kindest regards

      Patricia

  7. Crystal says:

    As Patricia says above:
    “#6 for the inside core. #8 to replace the 4mm bicones and #11 on the sides”

    This sounds like a great combo of sizes to try! :-)

    Time!!!! I need TIME! lol

    • Patricia says:

      Hi Crystal,I agree time is a problem.But i must a will try this beauty with seed beads. Have to work out now how many side beads on the sides with the #8 seed bead for the flat side spiral to work our well with the core bead of #6 seed bead;

      Has any others tried . XXXXXXX

      Patricia

Leave a Reply

