Fabric Bowl #2, Fall Leaves

Wednesday, July 22

If someone had told me I would be glued to a sewing machine for four hours and enjoying it, I would have told them “no way, not gonna happen”.

BUT… WAY, it did happen!! Well, off and on, between cutting fabric strips, wrapping the cord, sewing, stopping, wrapping, sewing, stopping…

This fabric bowl took me about 5 hours to make. The bowl posted on Craft Stylish took 4 hours. So I guess that makes me a slow sewer. I am OK with that. Especially when they come out LIKE THIS!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I selected the fabric to make my 2nd bowl sometime last week.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I added some fat quarters, ended up using just one. Thread I already had. And I used 8mm macrame cord instead of clothes line. It is working out really well.

Here’s my sewing machine in action. I have a Janome Memory Craft 10001. I am actually loving it!! It does all sorts of neat tricks at the touch of a finger. I kept altering the width and length of the zig zag stitch. Cool!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I put all those years in the corporate world to good use. 40 years of organizational skills learned. I created a “strip organizer”. :D

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These are pictures taken as I was almost finished.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The STUMPER in making this bowl is what to do with the cord end when finished. ???

I think I solved it. By twirling it around and adding a crochet flower and a button to somewhat cover it. Looks good to me.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Go here for instructions to make your own. I altered it a bit.

http://www.craftstylish.com/item/33825/how-to-sew-a-fabric-bowl

7 comments on “Fabric Bowl #2, Fall Leaves

  1. Nan says:

    The baskets look great! Thanks for all your helpful photos and detailed tips. They will come in handy when I try to make a basket out of my ever-growing stash.

  2. kim says:

    I like this bowl too. Is there a place I can by the flower since I don’t macrame :(

  3. lisa c says:

    I love your bowl it turned out beautiful! I especially like your idea for finishing the end. That is the part that doesn’t look great on my bowls.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Lisa. Ending these baskets is definitely a challenge. I also am using Marbella rings to hide the ends. Check out my other coiled bowls.

  4. raajia says:

    beautiful works congratulations! I love your basket!

    many Thanks for all photos and detailed tips.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Raajia, thanks so much for your comments on my work. I love making these baskets. Haven’t made one in a while. I am itching to make one.

Leave a Reply

