Square 26

Thursday, May 28

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Looking at this square, you would probably think all went well, since it looks OK. Nothing could be further from the truth. THIS square gave me fits!!

I couldn’t figure out how to match up my stitching with the pattern instructions. I know there was a mistake somewhere (on my part or on the instructions part, not sure). I am still a newbie crocheter so it took awhile to figure out where I went wrong and how to correct it. Ripped the offending row out and started over.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s where I got stumped, in case you make this square. You start off with 24 single crochets (in blue) and instructions next say to make a cluster (in white) in the next SC, 12 times. Hey!! That leaves 12 SC, right!! RIP IT. Started over, proceeded with “skip a SC” to complete this row. Somehow, still ended up with no where to put the last cluster. I jammed it in anyway. If you look close, you will see my jammin’.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No photos to show you for the next yellow round. No problems with it.

And here I am, headed to the finish.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like the pattern and the colors. I used the same colors as the book. I may even make more squares and make up something.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Soft Ecru, Hot Blue and Sunshine (yellow).

Measures 5 1/2″.

Special stitch used: Cluster


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

One comment on “Square 26

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    See, you’re learning. Sometimes the instructions are off kilter and you have to improvise. I’ve done that more times than I can count, but it usually comes out right. Thank goodness for pictures.

Leave a Reply

